Must Read Monday Presents…Ryan Jo!

Hello everyone! Well it’s Monday again. Back to work again. Yay! Yeah right, who am I kidding. But I do have something that might make your work week a little better. Ryan Jo Summers and her book Upon the Tide.
 Hi Ryan! I am so glad you could be here today. I just love the cover of your book. How would you sum up your book in one sentence?
Sure, here’s the hook:
Tossed together by happenstance, fleeing for their lives and falling in love under the Caribbean sun as paradise turns deadly.

 

That sure grabbed my attention. Got any more for us?

    New York Fashion designer, Piper Kincaid, just wanted a pleasant visit with her cousin down in Florida. That was before she and handsome beach bum, Kade Wyatt, become the targets of a gang of robbers and killers.
     Kade simply wanted some fish for his pet seagull. Now he and the lovely exec from out of town are caught in a deadly game of cat and mouse. He’s busy concentrating on Piper when he should be focusing on keeping them alive. 
     Fleeing for their lives aboard Kade’s houseboat, ‘The Hightide’, they experience risk, surprises, mystery and romance during the Great Caribbean Boat Chase. However, the biggest surprises are waiting for them back at port.
Wow! I can’t wait to read this.
Well, here’s a taste of what you’ll be reading…
“Thanks. So, tell me, have you ever taken this thing out into the ocean before?”
“Sure, lots of times. Usually I just take the Ebbtide, but Hightide’s been out into the Straits and further before. These trawlers are made to go clear to Europe if we wanted to.”
“Is that where we’re headed to?”
“No, just to the Bahamas and the Bermuda Triangle.”
She frowned. “Wait. Isn’t that where all those planes and boats have disappeared before?”
“There have been a few rumors of that happening,” he agreed slowly.
“Well, aren’t you concerned it could happen to us? That we could disappear?”
He cracked a grin. “If we do, the guys chasing us won’t be able to find us then.”
I found myself grinning just by reading this excerpt. I’m sure the rest of the book is just as good.
I’ve got some questions for you that will help your readers get to know you a little better. Ready?
Sure, let’s go.
Do you have any tattoos? What are they? If not, what would you want?
No, I don’t have any tattoos. However, if I were ever to get one, it would be a phoenix. The mythological bird that burned itself on a funeral pyre every so many years (500 I think) to rise from the ashes renewed and beautiful again. Why? When I left Michigan in 2004, to begin a new life in the south, I envisioned myself burning my old life to rise again someday. No there was no real fire, it was all symbolic. That is why I use phoenix in my email. At the time, it seemed fitting.

I’m sure that would look awesome! Okay, question number two. If you could live in another time, when would it be? Why?

The late 1880’s. I have read and watched westerns since I was a kid and fell in love with that period of history. Yes, it was hard and had some serious drawbacks, especially for women. (But to be honest, today isn’t perfect either) They were poised a few years from the dawning of a new decade, with new advancements and inventions constantly coming along. The country was still fairly new, honest and innocent. A person could make their mark based on their own efforts, good or bad, fair or honest. I really want to write more stories based in this time era. Why? It’s so much fun to mentally go back there!

What about a place? If you could move to a different state, what state would it be? Why?

Oregon, or the Pacific Northwest because of the climate. And it’s beautiful along the coast. I miss being near the water when I lived up north and suffer through the endless sun and heat of southern summers. I treasure cool, cloudy rainy days like gold. They are rare here in the south and common place in Oregon.

Are you a coffee drinker? How do you take it?

I love, love my coffee. I take it in a thick mug. With much raw, natural sugar and lots of whole milk. Sweet!! I do the same thing with my tea. Hot and I add a teaspoon of honey. Yum!

That sounds so good right now. I love coffee. It really gets me going in the morning. Okay, last question. What is one thing most people would be surprised to learn about you?

I have no sense of smell. Never have. It’s called anosmia. Totally true. My sense of taste is kind of wonky too but it’s all I’ve known. Can’t do heat and can’t get enough sweet.

Wow, I’ve never heard of that.  I can’t imagine not being able to smell. But then again, maybe it wouldn’t be so bad at times. Like when someone forgets to take the trash out. LOL!

Now that you’ve answered some in depth questions, can you tell us anything else about yourself?

Well, I am a North Carolina author who specializes in writing romances with a twist. Love stories blended with inspirational, paranormal, suspense or time travel–or several at once. I also writes non-fiction for regional periodicals. My dad is a songwriter and his aunt wrote poetry so I’m positive I came by my writing skill honestly. Apparently it’s in the genes.
My hobbies include bird-watching, houseplants (50 ish and growing), poetry and yard work. I love to gather with friends, hike in the forest with her dog, paint ceramics and canvas and work on wiggly word find puzzles. I live in a 1920 cottage with a menagerie of pets. Living in the mountains, I dream of the shore and frequently uses the water as scenes for my stories.
Ryan, thank you again for letting me host you today. Please come back anytime.
To discover more about Ryan Jo Summers, click on one of the links below:
  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Must Read Monday Presents…Ryan Jo!

  1. summersrye says:

    Amy, thank you so much for having me stop in! Have a super week. Ryan Jo

    Like

Please Leave a Reply. Thanks.

