An Incredible New Read!!

Hello everbody! I am so happy to introduce the talented author Christine Hart and her book, In Irina’s Cards.

image

image

*BLURB*

Irina Proffer leaves mundane small-town life behind when she experiences visions inspired by a strange deck of tarot cards. To get answers, she travels from her northern British Columbia home to the province’s coastal capital. She quickly discovers a world of fringe genetic science and supernatural mystery. 

Working for Innoviro Industries, Irina is drawn in by a powerful first love and compelling, yet dangerous questions about the nature of the company’s business. Meeting other ‘variants’ brings Irina closer and closer to the dark truth about her origins. She finds herself at the heart of two overlapping love triangles as she scrambles to escape her employer’s grip. Before she leaves the city, Irina realizes she has merely scratched the surface of a frightening conspiracy on a global scale.

Wow, this sounds really interesting. We all know being an author is a dream most of us share. So what advice would you give an aspiring writer?

Do it anyway. A writer I admire, Eden Robinson, said the same thing to me when I interviewed her as an undergrad writer at UVic. She was up for the Giller Prize at the time and told me she’d been daunted by the publishing industry as well. Canadians will recognize these items more easily than everyone else, but the point remains strong. Rejections? Bad reviews? Discouragement? Suck it up and keep going anyway. It’s the difference between being published and not being published.

That sounds like excellent advice. You have to keep going. But what do you do to break the dreaded writers block?

I have an interesting relationship with writer’s block. I frequently kick him (pronoun chosen on purpose) out of my room, house, head, or wherever else I find him. If I’m going to get a chapter done on a particular day, that’s what happens. I’ve written with an infant strapped to my chest. I’ve written bleary-eyed until midnight. When it comes to deadlines, even those I set for myself, I’m my own hardest taskmaster.

Being an author is a hard, difficult, but rewarding career. Speaking of jobs though, w

hat job would you NEVER want to do?

When I was younger, I used to say I’d never work in customer service and I’d never look after children. Now that I’ve done both of those things – and surprised myself by enjoying both – I’m not sure I’d shut anything out. I’m allergic to quite a few animals, most seriously horses, so I’d be in deep trouble if I ever had to work on a farm. I’ve learned the hard way that an asthma inhaler won’t save me if I decide to get too close anyway.

I’ve done both of those jobs myself. I have to say they definitely weren’t the worst ones. 😀 Here’s a fun question.

Have any tattoos? What are they? If not, what would you want?

I have a tattoo on my lower back that resembles the centerpiece of an elaborate Victorian necklace. Anyone familiar with my alter-ego, Sleepless Storyteller, wouldn’t be surprised to see this tat.

Sleepless Storyteller? Wow, I love that name. It has a wonderful ring to it. Now here’s a super tough question…What is your favorite candy? The one you couldn’t live without? 😋

This one is embarrassing, but I’ll be a big girl and admit I’m hooked on gummi bears. I can generally conceal it by buying them for my 4-year-old son, but I’m probably not fooling anyone who knows me.

Don’t be embarrassed. I love those too. Something about the fruity taste and that squishy texture. They are awesome. ☺
Christine, it has been great having you here and I hope you come back. But before you go, can you tell us where we can find your books?

No problem. Here are my buy links.

*BUY LINKS*

www.amazon.com/Irinas-Cards-Variant-Conspiracy-Book-ebook/dp/B01EKCKNWI

Great! And how can fans contact you?

They can click one of the link below.

*CONTACT LINKS*

www.christine-hart.ca

www.facebook.com/christineahart

www.twitter.com/chris_a_hart 

 

One thought on “An Incredible New Read!!

  1. Thanks so much for hosting me Amy! This was a fun post 🙂

    Like

Please Leave a Reply. Thanks.

