Weight Loss and Me

Hi everyone. A couple of days ago, I looked in the mirror and it hit me. I mean REALLY hit me. I can’t stand the way I look. I mean, I’ve always has issues with my looks but I’m talking weight wise. I’m 5’5, 38 years old, and weigh 165. Ick! I’m overweight. I even checked my BMI. Its 27.5 which falls into the overweight catetgory. If you would like to check yours, here is the link:

http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/educational/lose_wt/BMI/bmicalc.htm

Now most of us don’t look like a Victoria Secret model. You know with the sleek arms, flat tummy, tight butt, and slim thigh gap.

image

Actually about 90% of us don’t. And some of that percentage don’t want to. But I do.

I know there they are born with great genetics and of course, they can afford to have personal trainers and a good consultant/dietician. Plus free time to exercise. And we can’t forget that there is probably plenty of photoshopping and brushing going on. And possibly even some plastic surgery here and there. All of these things, we are either not born with or is something most of us can not afford. But still, those girls are FIT!

image

Most of those things we can’t do anything about unless we have money. But exercise and eating, those are things we can try and control. I say TRY.

With our busy lives, I know how hard it can be to fit in time for exercises. Take me for example, I work 4 days at the hospital and have 3 days off. And sometimes I sub at the local school. Sounds like I have plenty of free time right? HA!

Between trying to write my next book, paying bills, taking care of 3 kids, a husband (he works 7 days a week and one of those days is a double), do housework, help with homework, cook dinner, ensure showers are taken and teeth are brushed, dogs taken out, and any extra domestic duties that need doing, I don’t have a lot of extra time to work out.

And what exercises do you do? There are only about a million different kinds targeting certain things and some people say to do them, some people say don’t do them. How do you know?

And as far as eating right…Have you ever tried to go grocery shopping for strictly healthy stuff? Its expensive. Like 2-3 times more expensive than the junk (and delicious 😋) foods that most of us normally buy. For me feeding 5 people and buying all healthy on a budget is damn near impossible.

Everyone complains about America being overweight and how we need to eat healthier.  But how can we afford to when the healthy stuff skyrockets our grocery bill by at least $100-200 dollars a week. And forget joining weight watchers, nutrisystem, or Jenny Craig. That is extremely expensive too. Or at least it is for me. There is Slimfast and Atkind which are cheaper but can get pricey over time. So what can a person do?

I really don’t know. But I know that I am tired of looking in the mirror and being disgusted by what I see. So, I am going to do my best to start a diet. This is what inam going to try first as far as eating healthier:

image

And as far as exercise, I’m going to do what I can that will target my trouble areas. Arms, lower tummy, butt, and inner and outer thighs. I’ve got a few exercises picked out but if anyone has any suggestions, Please leave me a comment below. I can use all the help I can get. Thanks.

2 thoughts on “Weight Loss and Me

  1. I’m in the same boat. Only, I can’t workout because I’m still in recovery from surgery. When I am cleared, I’m going to get back to my 21 Day Fix diet and workout program. I have friends who swear by it and have seen their results. Good luck to you!

    Like

  2. Also, if you have an Aldi (grocery store) in your area, they are wonderful for budgets. Going to our cut our monthly bill in half and that’s even with buying a lot of fruit and vegetables.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply. Thanks.

