Old Fashioned, Nostalgic, Or Just Plain Silly? You Decide…

Times, they are a changin’. Someone famous said that (I believe it was Bob Dylan) and it is so true.

A good explanation of this is in the song Automatic by Miranda Lambert.  Country music fans everywhere have heard this song and so they know what I’m talking about. For those that are less knowledgeable of mainstream country, the song is about how things used to be. You know, like vehicle windows you had to crank to open, Polaroid pictures you had to shake, and the such.


I love that song. It reminds me of how things have changed over the years. Everything from, well, vehicle windows to photographs. Technology gas advanced rather rapidly, in an effort to make things easier, quicker, more up to date. I am all for change, especially in this crazy, wonderful world we live in. But nevertheless, there are still some things I love to do the “old-fashioned” way. The biggest thing is reading.

Now I own a Kindle, an IPhone, and a laptop. Don’t get me wrong, they are great and I use them all of the time. But for me, there is nothing beats a real book.

Hardcover or paperback, it doesn’t matter. I love everything about books. Their smell, the weight if them in your hands, the feel of the pages as you turn them.  It’s like you are holding a tiny piece of the author’s dream, a slice of the effort and joy that each writer puts into their writing. All true book lovers know what I mean. It’s almost magical.

As a child, I loved walking into a library, selecting an adventure in paper form, and then racing home to curl up and read.

It’s the same way now of course.
Ebooks are indeed a thing of the present and the future. They allow readers and authors to connect quicker. And you can carry a whole library around in one, thin little electronic device.


And that is wonderful, great. I enjoy books no matter what format they are in. But call me old-fashioned, nostalgic, or just plain silly but when it comes down to choosing an ebook or a physical book to read, for me, the choice is simple….

One thought on “Old Fashioned, Nostalgic, Or Just Plain Silly? You Decide…

  1. I love this post! Yes, new technology is nice in some instances, but some I could do without. Let’s face it, if you’re not a millionaire, you’re alright to go and stay at a Holiday Inn. You don’t know what you’re missing at a five star hotel with robes and slippers, nor will your life suffer from the lack of money to find out. I think about cell phones, yes, they are convenient and I hold onto mine like an obsessed blankie, but a lot of lives could be saved from people carelessly texting while driving. Would life suffer without them? It depends on how much luxury you put into it. We used to have to wait to get home and tell someone how our day was before we could dial on command and complain. As for books, I love it when you referred to holding a tiny piece of an author’s dream. On behalf of myself, thank you for that. It certainly is a dream; one that I’m so happy and privileged to get to share:)

    Like

Please Leave a Reply. Thanks.

